Windows 10's Latest Notification Schedules Your Upgrade

Windows 10's Latest Notification Schedules Your Upgrade

As anyone who has operated a PC with an old version of Windows in the past year knows, Microsoft has been trying to get users to hit the “upgrade” button to update to Windows 10. Now, Microsoft is rolling out new notifications to entice users.

Let’s run through how the latest upgrade pop-ups work and how you can revert to an older version of Windows if you have already accidently had your OS updated.

The Notification

The newest pop-up for Windows 10 appears below: 

 

windowsupgrade.png

[Image courtesy of LUMPYMAYOBNI from Reddit

If you see this pop-up on your computer and you don’t want to upgrade, you need to click the cancel upgrade option.

Why?

This is where things can get a bit confusing: if you choose to simply close out the pop-up window, the upgrade will continue even without your permission. Many users respond to the upgrade notifications by hitting the X button; these people are all receiving the update they had been actively avoiding.

How to Switch Back to Windows 7 or 8

Did you unintentionally upgrade to Windows 10? Brad Chacos of PC World explains that the simplest way to revert back to your preferred OS is to decline Windows 10’s end user license agreement which will appear during the install process.

If you have already moved beyond the end user agreement, you aren’t out of luck. For your first 30 days using Windows 10, Microsoft will let you downgrade back to your previous OS. Chacos shares the steps for performing this downgrade:

“Simply open the Start menu and head to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery. If you’re eligible to downgrade, you’ll see an option that says “Go back to Windows 7” or “Go back to Windows 8.1,” depending on which operating system you upgraded from. Simply click the Get started button and go along for the ride.”

While this method will get you back to good old Windows 7 or 8, the experience might not be like you remember it. Chacos explains that certain apps may need to be reinstalled and your setup options tweaked back to your liking. 

Nevertheless, we do recommend that you do make the upgrade to Windows 10!

Did you accidently get upgraded to Windows 10? Let us know in the comments!